Guess Who’s Back? Back Again!

​I’ve been off groups (and color blogging) for quite a while (real life stuff in the way;  cancer has sprung up in the family, and we also had an early pregnancy loss) but a lot of things have been coming together in the style & color department lately.

Firstly, I have discovered I’m a True Winter. 

I’m so surprised; everything until now has been “too” something. Too warm, too soft, too light, too bright, too brown, &c. Then of course I found that the only thing that I wasn’t too much of is COOL! So now I have a pretty good collection of TW makeup that all looks just so natural and fabulous on me.

I never thought in my life that I could wear grape lip gloss and it would look so normal on me! Heck, I never even thought of grape anything, and now I’m seriously rocking it!

I’m also narrowing down what I like in clothes & styles. Seems like maybe some kind of gamine/classic blend. My best and most comfortable outfit setup so far is like: classic round necked cardigan (cute details ok but not necessary), fitted tank or sleeveless blouse, and slim or skinny fit crop or ankle slacks. Shoes, who knows? I’ve found quite a taste for tiny/small repeated geometric patterns and love them in shirts. Some pintucks at the neck are ok, but tons of crazy stuff going on around my face isn’t. Lace overlay is definitely ok. A loose or flowing blouse is only ok if I can cinch it in. All my tops are best when body skimming. I can do v-necks but definitely prefer round necks or straight necks (like boatneck). Hair has to stay short. I recently let it get almost to my collarbone and it was terrible. I was literally buried in hair. So I’m going to keep it about jaw length. I’m teaching myself how to cut in layers. I have sooo much hair and I really need them. No layers equals curtain hair on me.

Contrast of course is medium to high.

Don’ts are long, too. Super loose & flowy stuff. Drapy neck stuff. Overly cutsey stuff like puff sleeves or peter pan collars (SG) or tees with sayings on them. In fact, of all things I really loathe tees with sayings on them or graphic tees of almost any kind. What other people think is cute or clever makes me feel extra super stupid. 

A short skirt might look good on my frame and proportion (SG to always have short skirts and I shudder), but I’ll never find out. In a short skirt I feel trashy, kinda like I’m walking around with my vagina hanging out. I watch these girls at work walking around in their short skirts, constantly tugging them down, and I wonder why they would do this when it’s so clear that they’re uncomfortable. My preferred skirt/dress length is tea to ankle length.

I don’t know what kibbe or zyla those things make me, but I’m not sure I care at this point. I kinda have it figured out for the most part, you know?

Guess Who’s Back? Back Again!

Leave a comment